Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Visit our sponsors:
 Alternative Autos  Become a sponsor!
Alfa156.net site | Want to sponsor?
Technical (156)
 Alfa Romeo forum : Technical (156)
Subject Topic: Crank sensor replacement Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Stevielew
Junior Alfisti
Junior Alfisti
Avatar

Joined: 06 May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 34
Posted: 28 January 2011 at 10:46 | IP Logged Quote Stevielew

I'm about to replace the crank sensor I know its at the back of the engine by the starter motor, but before I do, is it best to remove from the top of the engine or underneath the car?
Is there anything I need to remove to help with access too?
Cheers
Steve

__________________
Silver 2.4 JTD
Back to Top View Stevielew's Profile Search for other posts by Stevielew
 
rgwm
Junior Alfisti
Junior Alfisti
Avatar

Joined: 18 March 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1820
Posted: 28 January 2011 at 14:25 | IP Logged Quote rgwm

I usually do it from on top - easier unless you have access to a pit or ramp....but I haven't done a JTD - which I've just noticed you have......

I think it should be much the same - you'll need to remove the intake trunking, and the battery to give you enough access....on the TS most people remove the throttle body, but of course on a diesel.....

__________________
Alfabits, get your lovely Alfabits!

www.alfabettacars.co.uk

AROC Lancashire Secretary
Back to Top View rgwm's Profile Search for other posts by rgwm Visit rgwm's Homepage
 
Smaky
Tourismo (guest)
Tourismo (guest)

Fav. Newbie 2010 Banned’12-

Joined: 20 February 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2818
Posted: 28 January 2011 at 16:00 | IP Logged Quote Smaky

JTD's are easier from below, the engine mount doesn't get in the way and the gear linkage is alittle more stubborn to get past if you were to go from the top, but either way takes about the same time. Personally I prefer to be underneath.
Back to Top View Smaky's Profile Search for other posts by Smaky
 
Stevielew
Junior Alfisti
Junior Alfisti
Avatar

Joined: 06 May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 34
Posted: 28 January 2011 at 20:45 | IP Logged Quote Stevielew

I'll have a stab from underneath, how long does it take to change roughly btw?

__________________
Silver 2.4 JTD
Back to Top View Stevielew's Profile Search for other posts by Stevielew
 
Smaky
Tourismo (guest)
Tourismo (guest)

Fav. Newbie 2010 Banned’12-

Joined: 20 February 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2818
Posted: 28 January 2011 at 20:47 | IP Logged Quote Smaky

About 15 minutes. But you should reset the ecu too.
Back to Top View Smaky's Profile Search for other posts by Smaky
 
Stevielew
Junior Alfisti
Junior Alfisti
Avatar

Joined: 06 May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 34
Posted: 29 January 2011 at 10:12 | IP Logged Quote Stevielew

How do I reset the ECU?


__________________
Silver 2.4 JTD
Back to Top View Stevielew's Profile Search for other posts by Stevielew
 
Stevielew
Junior Alfisti
Junior Alfisti
Avatar

Joined: 06 May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 34
Posted: 29 January 2011 at 10:24 | IP Logged Quote Stevielew

I've found out how to do it now.

__________________
Silver 2.4 JTD
Back to Top View Stevielew's Profile Search for other posts by Stevielew
 
Smaky
Tourismo (guest)
Tourismo (guest)

Fav. Newbie 2010 Banned’12-

Joined: 20 February 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2818
Posted: 29 January 2011 at 22:35 | IP Logged Quote Smaky

Examiner, FiatECUscan or Alfadiag.
Back to Top View Smaky's Profile Search for other posts by Smaky
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.92
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0,1406 seconds.