Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Visit our sponsors:
 Alternative Autos  Become a sponsor!
Alfa156.net site | Want to sponsor?
Technical (156)
 Alfa Romeo forum : Technical (156)
Subject Topic: 156 Cooling Fan not working Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
ae_cowley
Junior Alfisti
Junior Alfisti


Joined: 30 April 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Posted: 01 May 2006 at 18:49 | IP Logged Quote ae_cowley

Hi

I hope that someone can help.
The radiator fan on my 156 TS isn't starting up. I've checked that voltage is getting to the fan and started the fan by direct connection to the battery. I can only assume that the problem is in the "switched earth" side. I've swapped the fan 1 relay over but no improvement.
Anybody have any ideas ?? Could it be the sensor ?? where would that be??

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

Andy
Back to Top View ae_cowley's Profile Search for other posts by ae_cowley
 
Nayab
Membro Eccellente
Membro Eccellente
Avatar
award 05/ 06,Coolest 07, Most Broken 08

Joined: 08 January 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 34842
Posted: 01 May 2006 at 18:58 | IP Logged Quote Nayab

Hi Andy, welcome to the forum. DavidC will be along any minute to answer this. Looks like you have already checked the relay which is sensible. Not sure what else to suggest.

__________________
Ex Alfa 156 2.0 Now Honda S2000
Back to Top View Nayab's Profile Search for other posts by Nayab
 
brid_dave
Senior Alfisti
Senior Alfisti
Avatar
Rup entertaining 06, Best Project 08

Joined: 04 June 2004
Location: Iraq
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12176
Posted: 01 May 2006 at 19:02 | IP Logged Quote brid_dave

try the resistor which is located on the fan cowling.
if your car has aircon they are a known failure which means that the low speed fan tends to fail.
if it is, the part number is 46533716 and they cost about £15 from the dealers

__________________
CHANGE IS GOOD

Back to Top View brid_dave's Profile Search for other posts by brid_dave
 
David C
Don Corleone
Don Corleone
Avatar
Mst hlpful 04’05’06’07, Pop 08, tech’10

Joined: 09 August 2003
Location: England
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 14901
Posted: 01 May 2006 at 19:02 | IP Logged Quote David C

The "switched earth" side is via the engine ECU.
The fans can be triggered via the ECU with Alfadiag or the official Examiner system.

There is no temp sensor for the fan, it is all done via the ECU using inputs from the coolant temp sensor (on the thermostat) and the cyl head temperature (on the back of the engine).

__________________
David C
Audi TT 3.2v6 DSG
xAlfa 156 Selespeed sp3 + Brembo conversion
Fiat Cinquecento 899cc
Back to Top View David C's Profile Search for other posts by David C
 
Black Beauty
Tourismo (guest)
Tourismo (guest)
Avatar
Rnr-up helpful 06, Pin 07’08, Banned’09-

Joined: 25 June 2005
Location: Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20134
Posted: 01 May 2006 at 19:19 | IP Logged Quote Black Beauty

Here you go:












Edited by Black Beauty on 10 October 2008 at 10:07
Back to Top View Black Beauty's Profile Search for other posts by Black Beauty
 
David C
Don Corleone
Don Corleone
Avatar
Mst hlpful 04’05’06’07, Pop 08, tech’10

Joined: 09 August 2003
Location: England
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 14901
Posted: 01 May 2006 at 19:24 | IP Logged Quote David C

You can test all the relay circuits by running a temp cable from pin 86 on the relay to earth, it should run the fan (high or low speed depending on which relay you do it on).

__________________
David C
Audi TT 3.2v6 DSG
xAlfa 156 Selespeed sp3 + Brembo conversion
Fiat Cinquecento 899cc
Back to Top View David C's Profile Search for other posts by David C
 
brid_dave
Senior Alfisti
Senior Alfisti
Avatar
Rup entertaining 06, Best Project 08

Joined: 04 June 2004
Location: Iraq
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12176
Posted: 01 May 2006 at 19:27 | IP Logged Quote brid_dave

where's the relays located for the fans (both speeds)?

Edited by brid_dave on 01 May 2006 at 19:27


__________________
CHANGE IS GOOD

Back to Top View brid_dave's Profile Search for other posts by brid_dave
 
David C
Don Corleone
Don Corleone
Avatar
Mst hlpful 04’05’06’07, Pop 08, tech’10

Joined: 09 August 2003
Location: England
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 14901
Posted: 01 May 2006 at 19:28 | IP Logged Quote David C

brid_dave wrote:
where's the relays located for the fans (both speeds)?

Usual place, in front of the battery.

__________________
David C
Audi TT 3.2v6 DSG
xAlfa 156 Selespeed sp3 + Brembo conversion
Fiat Cinquecento 899cc
Back to Top View David C's Profile Search for other posts by David C
 
ae_cowley
Junior Alfisti
Junior Alfisti


Joined: 30 April 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Posted: 02 May 2006 at 20:02 | IP Logged Quote ae_cowley

Hi

Thanks for the advice.
Will replace the resistor to see if it helps before investigating further. Finally, any idea what temp the fast fan should come on at?? I'm told it's 90 deg C for the low speed.

Andy
Back to Top View ae_cowley's Profile Search for other posts by ae_cowley
 
Black Beauty
Tourismo (guest)
Tourismo (guest)
Avatar
Rnr-up helpful 06, Pin 07’08, Banned’09-

Joined: 25 June 2005
Location: Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20134
Posted: 02 May 2006 at 23:41 | IP Logged Quote Black Beauty

Lo speed 98

Hi speed 103

Edited by Black Beauty on 20 May 2007 at 00:26
Back to Top View Black Beauty's Profile Search for other posts by Black Beauty
 
Nayab
Membro Eccellente
Membro Eccellente
Avatar
award 05/ 06,Coolest 07, Most Broken 08

Joined: 08 January 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 34842
Posted: 02 May 2006 at 23:43 | IP Logged Quote Nayab

Time to have a go at fixing low-speed fan then huh?

I peak at 105 temp before the hi speed fan kicks in. getting on my nerves.

__________________
Ex Alfa 156 2.0 Now Honda S2000
Back to Top View Nayab's Profile Search for other posts by Nayab
 
Jabb
Junior Alfisti
Junior Alfisti


Joined: 29 August 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Posted: 29 August 2008 at 14:58 | IP Logged Quote Jabb

Any chance someone can repost the pictures of where the resistors are? I have just bought a new resisitor but can't find where it goes. I might just run the risk of sounding a bit thick here but any help is appreciated!

Cheers
Back to Top View Jabb's Profile Search for other posts by Jabb
 

Page of 2 Next >>
  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.92
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0,3242 seconds.