Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Visit our sponsors:
 Alternative Autos  Become a sponsor!
Alfa156.net site | Want to sponsor?
Technical (156)
 Alfa Romeo forum : Technical (156)
Subject Topic: fault codes :( Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
bobby
Veloce
Veloce
Avatar

Joined: 23 November 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3920
Posted: 30 September 2008 at 22:23 | IP Logged Quote bobby

finally got my codes read tonight by an ex-fiat mechanic

P0340 cylinder 1 ref ????

o2 sensor

mixture control

he reckons valve probably sticking and causing other 2 - and try a bottle of CATACLEAN (which i never heard of but he swears by)

sugeested compression test if that dont work

what you think guys?

getting varying perormance and a lumoy idle

__________________
156 2.0 TS, 156 2.0 TS (LPG), Mito QV, now: Giulietta Sportiva
Belfast, NI
Back to Top View bobby's Profile Search for other posts by bobby
 
156-2.5-V6
Senior Alfisti
Senior Alfisti
Avatar
Best Newcomer 07, Best Spammer 08

Joined: 28 September 2007
Location: Sao Tome and Principe
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16683
Posted: 30 September 2008 at 22:25 | IP Logged Quote 156-2.5-V6

New throttle body? - sorry Bobby - couldn't resist

Edited by 156-2.5-V6 on 30 September 2008 at 22:25


__________________
Back to Top View 156-2.5-V6's Profile Search for other posts by 156-2.5-V6
 
Black Beauty
Tourismo (guest)
Tourismo (guest)
Avatar
Rnr-up helpful 06, Pin 07’08, Banned’09-

Joined: 25 June 2005
Location: Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20134
Posted: 30 September 2008 at 22:47 | IP Logged Quote Black Beauty

if you car has a CF2 [ M1.5.5 ecu ] the the error related to


m1.5.5 errors

m1.5.5 error codes wrote:
P0340 Phase sensor earth short
P0340 Phase sensor open circuit/positive short


sounds like a cam sensor to me ... this would mean that a new timing belt required
Back to Top View Black Beauty's Profile Search for other posts by Black Beauty
 
bobby
Veloce
Veloce
Avatar

Joined: 23 November 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3920
Posted: 30 September 2008 at 22:55 | IP Logged Quote bobby

@ jon - ya klunt

@ pat - im pretty sure thats the code pat, and it is a cf2 - but it defo said cylinder 1 reference (summat)

was one of those red scanner tools - the 3k jobbies

__________________
156 2.0 TS, 156 2.0 TS (LPG), Mito QV, now: Giulietta Sportiva
Belfast, NI
Back to Top View bobby's Profile Search for other posts by bobby
 
Black Beauty
Tourismo (guest)
Tourismo (guest)
Avatar
Rnr-up helpful 06, Pin 07’08, Banned’09-

Joined: 25 June 2005
Location: Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20134
Posted: 30 September 2008 at 22:59 | IP Logged Quote Black Beauty

Bobby no idea what 'red thing worth 3K' is .... could be the right code but wrong interputation of the code.

if oyu had bought the alfadiag license from Ferrarist as i suggested you'd be diagnosing for almost free now

in my 1st post you can read the list of codes for your own pleasure.

340 is phase sensor ... aka cam sensor

ring him & ask for the code number.
Back to Top View Black Beauty's Profile Search for other posts by Black Beauty
 
hutch
ARDC
ARDC
Avatar
Runner-up for baldest member 2007

Joined: 05 September 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4223
Posted: 30 September 2008 at 23:14 | IP Logged Quote hutch

had a look at the list of fault codes i have.


P0340 Camshaft Position Sensor Circuit Malfunction



breaks my heart but i have to agree with BB


__________________

Merc C230K - Just the ticket for a Hairdresser ! Now Cj's bought one
Back to Top View hutch's Profile Search for other posts by hutch
 
bobby
Veloce
Veloce
Avatar

Joined: 23 November 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3920
Posted: 30 September 2008 at 23:20 | IP Logged Quote bobby

see what you mean pat

its the same kit eurofix use, and SERE use for fiat group.

you think it is the right code wrong diag?

tbh the guy was unfamiliar with the code - was kinda guessing going by the output of the scanner. seemed like it threw him a bit too

__________________
156 2.0 TS, 156 2.0 TS (LPG), Mito QV, now: Giulietta Sportiva
Belfast, NI
Back to Top View bobby's Profile Search for other posts by bobby
 
bobby
Veloce
Veloce
Avatar

Joined: 23 November 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3920
Posted: 30 September 2008 at 23:45 | IP Logged Quote bobby

could it be cause the variator is old?

does it mean i need belts done even tho they recent (ie will a faulty sensor cause problems or does it just not work? )

__________________
156 2.0 TS, 156 2.0 TS (LPG), Mito QV, now: Giulietta Sportiva
Belfast, NI
Back to Top View bobby's Profile Search for other posts by bobby
 
Black Beauty
Tourismo (guest)
Tourismo (guest)
Avatar
Rnr-up helpful 06, Pin 07’08, Banned’09-

Joined: 25 June 2005
Location: Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20134
Posted: 01 October 2008 at 08:30 | IP Logged Quote Black Beauty

i'd suspect the code is correct, the fella is unfamilair & is guessing a bit.

TBH, assuming you have a laptop for £10 you'd be able to do this yourself.

£10 buys a USB KKL interface.

Unidaig is free, it'll communicate with the CF2 ecu.

Job done.... no more doubts.

If the sensor is bad its requires a new timing belt, also a good time to replace the variator which I reckon could be the under lying issue with your car ... that or the 'purge' solenoid.

Edited by Black Beauty on 01 October 2008 at 20:49
Back to Top View Black Beauty's Profile Search for other posts by Black Beauty
 
bobby
Veloce
Veloce
Avatar

Joined: 23 November 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3920
Posted: 01 October 2008 at 20:14 | IP Logged Quote bobby

thanks pat

__________________
156 2.0 TS, 156 2.0 TS (LPG), Mito QV, now: Giulietta Sportiva
Belfast, NI
Back to Top View bobby's Profile Search for other posts by bobby
 
Black Beauty
Tourismo (guest)
Tourismo (guest)
Avatar
Rnr-up helpful 06, Pin 07’08, Banned’09-

Joined: 25 June 2005
Location: Ireland
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20134
Posted: 01 October 2008 at 21:05 | IP Logged Quote Black Beauty

just buy a kkl cable & download unidiag.

Back to Top View Black Beauty's Profile Search for other posts by Black Beauty
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.92
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0,1406 seconds.