Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

Also visit the www.Alfa156.net main site
Technical (156)
 Alfa Romeo forum : Technical (156)
Subject Topic: GTA / V6 Cam Belt Guide Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
chris.oates
Junior Alfisti
Junior Alfisti

Online Status: Offline
Posted: 02†January†2019 at 00:18 | IP Logged Quote chris.oates

Well done on maintaining such a useful resource. Hereís my small contribution. My 2003ish 156 2.5 V6 Q-system had been sorned for most of the year due to some long holidays (Iím retired) and use of sports cars in summer. Before recommissioning it this year I decided to change the cam belts as they were last done 5 years and about 40,000 miles ago. When I went to start it the alternator had seized and took the auxiliary belt out.
I have 40 years experience of DIY car maintenance, a dry double garage with a pit , lots of tools and no time pressures. It took me 4 weeks working on and off so I am so impressed with those of you who did it outside on jacks over a weekend. If your car is like mine you need lots of techniques for removing seized fasteners in very confined spaces. As I had to replace the alternator I had to undo the right upper and lower, and centre rear engine mounts, remove the front exhaust sections, remove the fans, and I also removed the front bumper and upper radiator support. As I had a torn driveshaft boot and snapped spring on the off side I also removed these. All this vastly improved my access to the cam belts.
Hereís my tip, donít try and chisel off a seized lower rear cam cover M6 allen headed screw with a rounded socket if you donít want to replace the water pump. It screws into a lug on the water pump, see photo. My pump had a plastic rotor with a similar crack as shown earlier in this thread, it was replaced at the last belt change so had done about 40,000 miles.